about me

Hi there!

Before I get into the nitty-gritty about my path to licensure, I feel it is important to tell you a little bit about me so you can put my experience in perspective. I’ve read many blogs about others’ experiences, but very few about a foreign graduate trying to navigate this process.

So here it goes! A quick intro.

My name is Camile Silva. I am 37 years old, married for 7 years, and have two beautiful little girls (a 4 1/2 y.o. and a 2 1/2 y.o.).

I was born and raised in Brazil. I went to architecture school at the University of Brasilia, in Brasilia, which is a great university, with a strong architectural program — the second best in the country.  I started architecture school in the fall of 1995 and graduated in the spring of 2000. I moved to the US in 2002 to attend graduate school at LSU, which I finished in 2005. I interned 20 hours per week throughout college and worked full time once I graduated until I left Brazil to come to the U.S. After graduate school, I worked in New Orleans, Birmingham, and Baton Rouge. I have been in the US since the fall of 2002 and have proudly become an American citizen in 2012.

I currently live in Baton Rouge, LA with my husband, daughters and dog, Satchmo.

Leave a comment