On taking the bull by the horns.

So 2015 rolls in, the year I decided to get this over with. I had had a few months of break. I had had a chance to air my head, keep busy with other ventures, and just reflect on this process. Despite my failures, I realized that I had learned a lot. I actually had secretly enjoyed the studying process. I didn’t mind that part at all. I didn’t even mind dealing with the ancient vignette software, which is a source of frustration to many. What I really minded was the test taking part this process. That had always been my fear and my weakness. Not sure if this was a new resolution or what, but I decided to conquer my fear. I was not going to procrastinate any longer. On the fifth of January, I scheduled my next exam: BS.

By that point, I could have taken any of the failed ones, but I decided to go with the unknown. I felt that I would likely fail that one too, so why not get it out of the way, so I could get to the ones I really needed to pass? I was determined not to fail one exam more than once. So BS it was. I scheduled it for the end of January, giving myself 4 weeks to prepare.

For BS, I studies the following: A.R.E. Building Systems Prep Seminar, a.k.a. The Amber Book (online seminar and book), Archiflash, Gang Chen’s mock-up exam/book, Jenny’s notes, alkikat’s notes, and Kaplan’s sample tests. I also had downloaded MEEB, 12th edition, for free. It is not the best way to use this book, but it is what I had. I was free. Although it is a great source, I really didn’t have time to go throught it. I skimmed the images and graphs.

The Amber book seminar was totally worth the money. I am a visual learner. Watching the seminar, not only was fun for me, it was way easier to retain the information covered. I thought it was so thorough that I didn’t feel the need to read Kaplan. I only used Kaplan for the sample questions. I realized then how many errors exist in that series of study guides. So I spent one week just watching the seminar and taking my own notes. Same schedule as before: a couple of mornings per week and every single night, for 3 to 4 hours after putting girls to bed. The second week was a week of review. Review of my notes, and others’ notes. I would go over Archiflash little by little a few minutes before bed. On the third week, I took and re-took sample tests and practiced the vignette a few times. On the fourth week, I went over everything, this time glancing at MEEB online. I felt prepared.

As usual, the exam was tough. Those first ten questions were no different. They always seem tougher than the other ones. But I managed to stay calm and work through every question with attention and focus. I still marked about 40% of the exam. They didn’t all seem like a gamble to me. I answered all of them to the best of my abilities. I just wanted to have one last look at them before finishing that portion, if I had time to do so. But I didn’t. I finished the multiple choice portion with 8 minutes to spare. I reviewed what I could, perhaps 1/3 of what I had marked. And it was in this process of reviewing that I realized I had a good shot at this exam, provided I didn’t mess up the vignette. As I reviewed, I pretty much stuck with the answers I had initially chosen on the first go around. If I changed my answer on any question, it would have been in one or two of the first ten questions. Those always made my heart beat faster and hands tremble more, so I couldn’t possibly keep my thoughts straight. So I always made sure to review those…

The vignette part of this exam was straight forward. I actually realized that the single vignettes seemed pretty on par with the NCARB samples. Although I say that, I did finish this vignette on the nick of time. I had no time to review. Thank heavens I was working thoroughly on every single room as I went along.

One week later: I passed this exam. On the first try! What a great feeling! This is one division lots of people have trouble with… I managed to pass it on the first go. I remember thinking to myself: this is the one division Jenny, whose has compiled such beautiful notes on every single division, had failed. And I passed on the first try. Holy cow. That goes to show how each and everyone’s experiences are different. I learned a lot form Jenny’s, not only notes, but essays. She poured her heart out and I am forever grateful for, not only her bravery of sharing her experience, but her willingness to share what she has worked so hard to compile. Again, Jenny, THANK YOU!

I scheduled my SS retake for 6 weeks later.

Leave a comment